Rumours are circulating that producer Michael Patrick King wants to keep the Sex and The City empire alive.

Now, before you all start jumping up and down to remind me how crap the second movie was (which is was.  I’m sorry for anyone who disagrees, but it was terrible.) King is keen to go the other way.

What does that mean? you ask.  We’re talking prequels.  I know.  I know.  When have prequels ever worked?  Pretty much never (I would like an example if anyone can think of one).  But Sex and The City was based on the book by Candace Bushnell, and she did recently bring out The Carrie Diaries which follows Carrie before she becomes all Mr Big-ed and what not.

So who’s the gal to fill this HUGE role (assuming that it goes ahead)?  Well, Michael Patrick King wants Blake Lively.  For those who need a little jump start on their brain, Blake plays Serena van der Woodsen in Gossip Girl.

So…here’s the thing.  Blake can’t really act.  Agree?  Disagree?  I don’t like her.  She’s not as babelicious as she’d made out to be in the books (which was always going to be tough) and she mumbles her ways through her lines.  Is this just me or does anyone else go “huh?” whenever she talks?

However, I might be wrong (I hope!)  I haven’t seen her in a fun role like Carrie so for all we know she could shock us all!

Thoughts?  Are you a fan of Blake Lively?  What about the idea of ANOTHER Sex and The City instalment?

blake lively

Blake Lively-(image taken from http://www.robot6.comicbookresources.com)

