OK, first things first, I apologise for the lack of posts in the past few weeks.  I moved house, and then I went overseas.  Just for future reference, don’t try to do the both of those in the same time period.  Secondly, I realise that I’m about a million years behind The Hunger Games obsession, but in my defence I tended to shy away from it after Stephenie Meyer suggested it.  Weird, considering I like Twilight, but there are only so many love triangles a girl can take.

Moving on.  So, I finally decided to read it.  And surprise, surprise I found it amazing.  For those who haven’t heard of it, or choose to ignore the blurb which woefully describes the storyline, The Hunger Games, written by Suzanne Collins surrounds a teenage girl Katniss who lives in a futuristic world.

Set in what was once the United States, the country is divided into twelve districts, with the ruling state, The Capitol, controlling them all.  Each year, The Capitol demands that two children, aged between 12-18, one boy and one girl, compete in The Hunger Games; a competition where only one person can come out alive.

After taking her sister’s position in The Hunger Games, Katniss and Peeta,the other District Twelve contender, is taken to The Capitol, where she and Peeta are paraded throughout the city in a bid to win sponsors; viewers who pay for items when they are particularly needed in The Arena.  As a means to attract more sponsors, Katniss and Peeta start a love affair, a romance which Katniss believes to be entirely fake.

 

What I liked about this book was that it had all the usual airs of longing, romance, cute boys etc etc, but unlike other similar novels, the protagonist of the story is a strong female who decides to choose her own fate.  While originally the idea of a book where children are forced to kill off one another repelled me, in the end I found myself more and more drawn into the storyline.

Of course on top of that the idea of a pretend romance that isn’t really pretend is always interesting.  Right from the beginning it’s clear to everyone but Katniss that Peeta has feelings for her, yet it isn’t so apparent to her, or the reader, whether she has feelings for him too.  Plus, there is the matter of her best friend and hunting partner back in District Twelve, Gale.

Cue second and third books.

 

What wasn’t particularly great about this book was the writing, which at times was a bit clunky and simple, and, occasionally, Katniss’ character.  While I did say she was a strong individual, she also has the problem of being cold, even to the reader (and considering it’s written in first-person perspective, this is saying something), and she lacks the ability to make up her mind about her feelings. Which is pretty dang frustrating really.

 

Overall, I thought it was an interesting and compelling book to read; I did spend half the night reading it after all, and I’ve already started on the second book.  I’m also excited interested in the upcoming film which even stars Australian hottie Liam Hemsworth.  Definitely worth a look I’d say.

What did you think?  Have you read the Hunger Games?  Did you like it?

the hunger games

The Hunger Games

