My name is Inigo Montoya.  You killed my father.  Prepare to die.

I don’t care what anyone else thinks.  I know that Citizen Kane, Casablanca and The Godfather are considered the best films of all time.  I get that.  But pah!  The Princess Bride is better.  It’s a film where they satirize the concept of a fairytale.  Amazing.  Just. Amazing.

While I assume that 99% of my readership have seen The Princess Bride, for the poor, forsaken minority who clearly didn’t get a childhood, I’ll discuss the plot below.

Plot:

Cue a sick boy who is stuck in bed and has to listen to his father read him a bedside story.  Boring.  Except this story has pretty much everything that’s ever been cool in it.

“Fencing. Fighting. Torture. Poison. True love. Hate. Revenge. Giants. Hunters. Bad men. Good men. Beautifulest ladies. Snakes. Spiders. Beasts of all natures and descriptions. Pain. Death. Brave men. Coward men. Strongest men. Chases. Escapes. Lies. Truths. Passion. Miracles.”

You get the gist, right?

In short, the story follows star-crossed lovers, Buttercup and Wesley.  Only, when Wesley goes off to find his fortune (for he is only a poor farmboy), Buttercup receives news that he has been killed by the Dread Pirate Roberts.  So she’s heartbroken.  But, negative side to being the most beautiful woman in all the land, she’s forced to marry Prince Humperdinck.  Despite the fact that he’s a D-bag.

Anyway, one day Buttercup is riding along the Palace grounds before the wedding, when she is kidnapped by a short, smart man, Vizinni, and his two sidekicks, giant Fezzik and greatest sword fighter of all time, Inigo Montoya.

While they plan on escaping with the princess, things start to go awry when they’re followed by a mysterious man.  Could it be the Dread Pirate Roberts, out to get Buttercup?  Or someone a little closer to home…

There’s more to the storyline, but honestly, it has to be seen to be appreciated.

Why I Love It:

  • Cary Elwes.  I don’t know what happened to him since, as he either seems plays a creeper or a guy who chops off his own leg in all his most recent films, but back in the 80s and early 90s he was the king of sword fighting.  Somehow he manages to portray Wesley perfectly, a charming, arrogant man, who delivers his line perfectly, while fighting ten men at once AND retaining his ever-so-slightly mussed hair-do.  True talent.
  • Andre The Giant.  It makes me so sad that he’s since died, but damn, I love this guy.  I realise he could very, very easily crush me to death, but every time I watch The Princess Bride, I just want Fezzik to give me a big ol’ hug.
  • The 80s.  The 80s were a magical time from what I’ve heard, and seen, and The Princess Bride is no exception.  Ridiculous over-the-top costumes?  Check.  Big hair-dos?  Check.  Really, REALLY terrible special effects.  Check.  What’s not to love?
  • The storyline.  The storyline makes my soul smile.  It isn’t pretentious, it isn’t mean, it isn’t taking the mockery out of someone.  It’s a story that’s fun, a bit inventive and so sweet that it’s managed to stand the test of time for 25 years.

Have you seen The Princess Bride?  Is it a cult classic?  What’s your favourite film of all time?  Let me know!

PS.  Billy Crystal makes an appearance as Miracle Max.  Need I say more?

