The moustache.  The man.  The legend.  It’s now been ten years since the first Anchorman movie came out, and so ‘hype’ for the second is an understatement.  With all of the cast returning, plus more than a handful of famous names playing as extras, I had high hopes for this film.  Alas, I should always remember the ultimate golden rule.  No sequel is as good as its predecessor.

Set several years after the first film, Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues, shows Ron Burgundy (Will Ferrell) and Veronica Cornerstone (Christina Applegate) happily married with a child, and co-anchors at one of the most prestigious news stations in the country.  In short, life is good.  Until Veronica is promoted to the first ever female nightly news anchor, and Ron is unceremoniously fired.  Ouch.  To make matters worse, Ron is essentially a douche, and refuses Veronica to take the job.  Unsurprisingly, she dumps him.  Yes to feminism everywhere.

Flash forward and Ron is a nobody, with no job and no will to live.  Luckily for him, he’s been approached to anchor a news channel on the revolutionary 24 hour news channel, and even better, he can pick his team.  Welcome back, Champ (David Koechner), Brian (Paul Rudd) and Brick (Steve Carrell).  Unfortunately, Ron immediately places a bet against the hot shot of the channel, and he has to find a unique and iconic way to beat him in the ratings.  The result?  Terrible quality news that delivers nothing of relevance or substance, but generally good news all round.  Success.

The first problem with Anchorman 2 was that it was too long.  I have a long-held belief that silly, stupid comedies shouldn’t go for more than 90 minutes.  This one was just shy of two hours. And while I’m going to offend Will Ferrell fans with this comment, I just don’t think a Will Ferrell film should go for two hours.  While he is definitely witty, he’s humour largely consists of crass characters that enjoy yelling frequently.  And, to me at least, that gets old pretty quickly.

Secondly, the storyline was far too long-winded.  We begin with Ron on top, then he’s at rock bottom.  Then he’s on top again, then he’s rock bottom.  Then he’s on top.  The end.  While the storyline is created to be melodramatic and ridiculous, at times it just didn’t translate well.  I’m sure there were numerous witty lines that went straight over my head simply because I’d lost focus through sheer boredom.

However, there were aspects of the film that I enjoyed.  The reunion of the news team, with a slow-motion catastrophe in a campervan was particularly entertaining. and as with the first film, I enjoyed the news team vs. news team (vs. news team vs. news team etc etc) fight that not only had about 40 ridiculously well-known actors and actresses, but also poked fun at the massive array of news that’s now available.

I also appreciated the spin that they took in regards to their news segment because it was so scarily accurate.  If I was up at 2am, I would most definitely want to watch ‘fun’ news instead of actual news.  Even worse, when we look at the most popular news outlets in the 21st century, some contain only news that is ridiculous, bizarre or downright hilarious (Yahoo, mX).  So, unlike other aspects of the story, this one was relatively plausible, not to mention ironic, satirical and genuinely funny.  The rest of the film?  Not so much.

While I wasn’t a big fan of this film, and I think it could have done a lot better, I also think I’m probably excessively harsh considering I had such high expectations.  Regardless, if you’re a fan of moustaches, perms and blatant racism, then this is the film for you.

Have you seen Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues?  What did you think?  Are you a fan of Will Ferrell?  Let me know!

