As with all of Sophie Kinsella’s novels, I’ve Got Your Number contains a protagonist that would, quite possibly, not actually survive outside of the literary world – if only from the fact that they’d walk into a mineshaft simply from sheer absentmindedness. However, regardless of common sense or any clue as to how normal relationships function, Poppy Wyatt and I’ve Got Your Number still managed to be surprisingly charming.

In I’ve Got Your Number we’re introduced to a frantic Poppy – she’s getting married in a couple of weeks, yet she’s managed to lose the priceless, family-heirloom of an engagement ring – right before she meets up with her fiance, Magnus, and his insufferable parents. What makes matters worse is that her phone is quickly snatched by a ride-by-thief – how is anyone going to get into contact with her if they find her ring?

Luckily, Poppy discovers a brand new phone lying on top of the bin: a phone that, while belonging to businessman Sam’s former PA, is now under the possession of Poppy, at least until she gets her phone back. Until then? She has to act as PA-in-lieu for businessman Sam, and if that means a bit of flirtation along the way – well, there’s nothing wrong with that?

I’d like to add one thing – I don’t actually think there’s anything wrong with chick lit, and Sophie Kinsella is a genius at procuring them. I bring this up because I recently wrote a mini-thesis on the misrepresentation of females into the chick lit genre, and I came across an article that included quotes from some ninnies who had a go at Kinsella. Basically, they said something along the lines of ‘for someone who has a degree from Oxford, she certainly writes a lot of trash’. Yes, chick lit is often silly and completely oblivious to the realities of life and love, but that doesn’t make it a BAD thing. And hell, Kinsella has literally made millions from her novels, so not only is she one of the highest-paying authors in the world (pretty good for ‘writing silly chick lit’), but I can also assume that she’s made a lot more money than the average graduate with an English degree, Oxford or not.

I picked up I’ve Got Your Number at the Denpasar airport when I realised that I had a 6 hour flight (and a 12 hour layover) with only 30 pages remaining of my last book. Scary times, I assure you. Luckily for me, I’ve Got Your Number lived up its reputation of a classic chick lit: funny, lighthearted and about as easy to read as a Dr Seuss book.

Of course, like most of Kinsella’s novels, common sense and reality are swept aside to make room for hilarious plot lines and ridiculous protagonists. Poppy, despite being a physiotherapist and therefore (I assume) quite bright, comes across as a fool, in more ways than one. Not only does she get engagement to a man after only a few short months, but she allows her friends to hit on him, his parents to belittle her and for him, above everyone else, to talk his way into her good books again and again. She somehow thinks that taking a phone out of the bin and refusing to give it back to its owner is somehow more appropriate, not to mention easier, than simply going down to the shops and getting a new phone straight away. And above all else, she’s a fully grown woman who creates a relationship with a man over text and email – something that I would assume most people stop doing (and stop aspiring to) over the age of 15.

Nevertheless, I’ve Got Your Number was still charming, and it is a skill that Kinsella has. Her storylines are ridiculous and her characters frequently unlikeable, yet almost every time, you want them to get their man, get their revenge and be their quirky, outrageous selves throughout. And really, from a novel that revolves around a missing engagement ring, could we ask for anything more?

Have you read I’ve Got Your Number or any of Sophie Kinsella’s books? Are you a fan? Let me know!

i've got your number by sophie kinsella

I’ve Got Your Number – (image taken from http://www.flixcart.com)

