Haters may hate, but I will put my hand up and freely admit that I went to see Night at the Museum, and no,  surprisingly I am not a child under the age of ten. Because, while the Oscar season is all well and good for high-brow cinema, there comes a point where you can’t take another biopic about muscular dystrophy, suicide or war. Thus, this is where Night of the Museum: Secret of the Tomb steps in.

Night at the Museum begins in Egypt in 1938, where archaeologists discover the tablet of Ahkmenrah – a tablet that should not be removed because otherwise the ‘end will come’. Back to present day in NYC, Larry Daly (Ben Stiller) is the night security guard at the Natural History Museum, a museum where all the exhibitions come to life after dark, thanks to the magic of the tablet of Ahkmenrah. Yet when an exhibition goes horribly awry and the inhabitants – including Teddy Roosevelt (Robin Williams) and Jed, a miniature cowboy (Owen Wilson) – begin to lose control, Larry learns that the powers of the Ahkmenrah tablet are fading. So, Larry and his team must travel to the British Museum to learn about how to fix the tablet, before its magic disappears completely.

In terms of plot, it’s safe to say that Night at the Museum: Secrets of the Tomb doesn’t particularly deliver. The central plot is relatively thin, and the sub-plot between Larry and his son, Nicky, is yawn-inducing at best, laughably implausible at worst (seriously, a DJ in Ibiza? Yuck). But that’s ok, because one does not go see a film like Night at the Museum for its storyline.

The best bit about this film is that it gave the impression that making it was a hell of a lot of fun for everyone involved. Everyone appeared to be great friends, off and on screen, and while it is sad to see one of Robin Williams last ever films, it didn’t detract from the overall infectious happiness that Night at the Museum seemed to give off. Plus, for a bit of a history nerd, seeing the British Museum on the big screen and going ‘I’ve been there’ like a wanker every five minutes is pretty fun. Now I just need to get myself to New York so I can see the giant head saying ‘dum dum’ at the Natural History Museum. Except, that’s right, they don’t actually talk in real life…

I will be honest and admit that I’m also a big Ben Stiller fan, so unless his film is absolutely atrocious (for example, Envy, but let’s never discuss that again), I usually get a bit of a kick out of it. Plus, I didn’t exactly have high expectations for Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb. I wanted to see a lighthearted comedy that included references to history and some wicked footage of London, and I got that. So if that’s what you’re after from this film, then I would definitely recommend it. If you’re after something a bit classier? Well, it is award season, so a whole bunch of super serious films are there to be watched.

Have you seen Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb or any of its predecessors? Are you a fan of Ben Stiller? Let me know!

